Honorary Committee

Dave Startzell

Trail Champions Honorary Committee Former long-term Appalachian Trail Conservancy Executive Director David Startzell, retired in 2012 after more than 25 years as executive director of Appalachian Trail Conservancy (ATC). He served the longest tenure of any executive director of ATC, as well as the longest of any officer of the organization, having joined ATC in …

Dave Startzell Read More »

Dick Anderson

Trail Champions Honorary CommitteeDick is the former Executive Director of Maine Audubon Society, BEP member, Department of Conservation Commissioner, and Founder of the International Appalachian Trail Twenty-five years ago, Dick and two other Mainers shared their concept for the International Appalachian Trail (IAT) to extend the Appalachian Trail from its end atop Mount Katahdin into …

Dick Anderson Read More »

Laura Waterman

Trail Champions Honorary CommitteeA pioneer of the Leave No Trace Ethic (with her late husband Guy), a Director of the Waterman Fund, and an icon in the hiking and conservation world. Laura and her husband Guy (1932-2000) lived for nearly 30 years as homesteaders on 27 acres in Corinth, Vermont where they moved in 1973 …

Laura Waterman Read More »